October 2016 New Music Single funding decisions

Media Releases · Music · 6th October 2016

NZ On Air will fund 25 new songs in the latest New Music Single funding round.

The 25 songs were selected from a very large field of 176 applications in this second round of the New Music funding scheme from NZ On Air.

New Music Single grants are up to $8,000 per song to go towards a combination of recording costs, music video production and promotion of the song to help it connect with the audience. Applicants are required to co-invest a minimum of $2,000.

The New Music Single decisions are based on the broadcast, music and audience merits of the songs that have been submitted, judged by a panel of broadcasting and music professionals.

The list of projects funded in the October New Music Single round is as follows –

Anthonie Tonnon / Leave Love Out Of This
Armed In Advance / Running You Down
B O K E H / I Know You Know
Bakers Eddy / Pastel Colours
Beachspeaker / Why Can’t I Get What I Want For Once?
Clap Clap Riot / 929
Dave Weir / Tomorrow Never Comes
Diaz Grimm / Sinse 7
I Am Giant / Dead Flower
Jon Lemmon / Something True
Jupiter Project / Candles
Kings / Some Day
Louis Baker / Addict
Miloux / Paris
Mt Eden / Cruel
Nadia Reid / Richard
Nakita / Addicted
Nomad / I Won’t Stop
Raiza Biza / Miriam Makeba (and Other Strong Women)
Shakes / Waiting On A Feeling
The Map Room / Hold Me Up To The Sun
The Upbeats / Silcho featuring Sarah Ryland
Theia / Champagne Supernova
Truth / Nyte
Yoko Zuna / Whenua featuring Ladi6

The July Making Tracks Panel was –

 Hale Speedy [More FM Network; Auckland]
 Dylan Chase [Base FM; Auckland]
 Nicky Harrop [Massey University; Auckland]
 Victoria Kelly [APRA; Auckland]
 Deane Simmonds [CHART; Christchurch]
 Savina Kim [IGNITE/Auckland Live; Auckland]
 Jeff Newton [NZ On Air; Auckland]

The next New Music Single round closes at 5.00pm on Friday 11 November 2016.

Applications can be made online at www.nzonair.govt.nz/music.